Portrait of Anne Wilkes Tucker © Gay Block

The Eye of the Curator: Honoring Anne Wilkes Tucker

CENTER invites you to join us in a very special occasion honoring photographic luminary Anne Wilkes Tucker for her many years of seminal work as the photography curator of the Museum of Fine Arts Houston. Review Santa Fe 2015 reviewers, photographers, and community members will be present for a reception and dinner that includes a short program and presentation by Ms. Tucker.

Saturday, June 13, 2015

7-8pm Garden Reception, 8-10pm Dinner
Drury Plaza Hotel Ballroom, 828 Paseo De Peralta, Santa Fe, NM 87501

If you can’t attend, but would like to make a donation call Laura at 505-984-8353 or mail a check to PO Box 8372, Santa Fe, NM 87504. We will acknowledge your name or business and it will appear on materials and the website.



(Tickets to the dinner are no longer available.)

Image © Gay Block

Anne Wilkes Tucker received undergraduate degrees from Randolph Macon Woman’s College and Rochester Institute of Technology and a graduate degree from the Visual Studies Workshop, a division of the State University of New York. After working in various museums and universities, she joined The Museum of Fine Arts, Houston in 1976, and is currently the Gus and Lyndall Wortham Curator. She founded the museum’s Photography Department, which now has a collection of over 28,000 photographs. She has curated over forty exhibitions, most of which were accompanied by a publication, most recently including the exhibition WAR/PHOTOGRAPHY and its award-winning catalogue. She has contributed essays to many other monographs and catalogues, and published numerous articles on photography and its practitioners. She has lectured throughout the U.S., Europe, Asia, and Latin America, and been awarded fellowships by the National Endowment for the Arts (NEA), the Guggenheim Memorial Foundation, The Getty Center, the Harry Ransom Center, and the Dora Maar House.

In 2001, TIME magazine honored Tucker as “America’s Best Curator.” She was the first recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Focus Award from the Griffin Museum of Photography in 2006, and received an Alumnae Achievement Award from Randolph Macon Woman’s College. In 2011 she received an honorary doctorate from the College at Brockport State University of New York.


Thank you to our underwriters. Below is a current list to date:


Gay Block
Howard Greenberg
Jeanne & Michael Klein
Marlene Meyerson

PLATINUM ($2,500)

Joan and Stanford Alexander
Joanna T. Hurley
Wade Wilson

PALLADIUM ($1,000)

Reid Callanan, Santa Fe Photographic Workshops
Laurence Miller Gallery
Fraenkel Gallery
Sharon Stewart
Verve Gallery of Photography

SILVER ($500)

Eve R. France
Joan Morgenstern
Edward Osowski
Andrew Smith Gallery
Radius Books

Sign up for our E-News!